Celebrating our childhood champions

Recognising our volunteers at our first ever Childhood Champion Awards in London

Childhood champions awards nightOur dedicated winners were presented with their awards at The Banking Hall by Royal Patron of ChildLine and NSPCC President, HRH the Countess of Wessex alongside ChildLine founder Dame Esther Rantzen and NSPCC Chief Executive Peter Wanless.

All the nominees were recommended by fellow NSPCC volunteers and staff across the country in categories including schools volunteer of the year, frontline volunteer of the year and ChildLine volunteer of the year amongst others.

The winners were selected by a judging panel that included Dame Esther Rantzen, NSPCC CEO Peter Wanless and Derren Heyes who is editor of Children and Young People Now.

Esther RantzenDame Esther Rantzen said:
“It’s amazing to see so many volunteers nominated for awards. Those who won really went above and beyond and I wish to extend huge congratulations to them.

"Without the efforts of all the volunteers at the NSPCC so many children and young people would miss out on support they so desperately need.”


The winners

Regional and national winners from across the UK celebrated their achievement at a special event to recognise volunteering.

See our regional winners

National winners

  • Outstanding Achievement of the Year
    Fiona Simpson – Northern Ireland
  • Outstanding Young Volunteer of the Year
    Rosey Stonehouse – Wales
  • Schools Volunteer of the Year
    Alex Bennett – London and the South East
  • ChildLine Volunteer of the Year
    Nick Brain – Scotland
  • Frontline Volunteer of the Year
    Sam York – Northern Ireland
  • Employee Volunteer of the Year
    Peter Frost – South West and Chanel Islands
  • Event Volunteer of the Year
    Francesca Valli – London and the South East
  • Community Volunteer of the Year
    Mary Hunt – East of England
  • School of the Year
    Donegall Road Primary – Northern Ireland
    Gallowhill Primary – Scotland
    Robert Bloomfield Academy – East of England
  • Outstanding Young Volunteer of the Year
    Rosey Stonehouse – Wales
  • Schools Volunteer of the Year
    Alex Bennett – London and the South East
  • Branch of the Year
    Rochdale Branch – North of England
  • Corporate Partner Volunteer of the Year
    Harrods – London and the South East
  • Volunteer Leader of the Year
    Sir Stanley Thomas – Wales
  • Lifetime Achievement

"Fiona’s achievements include over 1,000 direct voluntary counselling hours and helping out in school visits when there’s a lack of volunteers – she’s even battled through snowstorms to get in!"
Fiona Simpson / Northern Ireland

Peter Wanless, CEOPeter Wanless, CEO of NSPCC said:
"Our Childhood Champion Awards are our chance to say thank you to some of our most dedicated volunteers. Their efforts really are outstanding and we would not be organisation we are today without them.

"A huge well done to all those who were nominated and won today and a big thanks to all of our volunteers."